Small object of desire #7 – The body

In Voluptas Mors by Phillippe Halsmann in collaboration with Salvador Dali

The body, in one form or another, features a lot in my poetry. A theme that I keep returning to is: what connects the living to the unborn to the dead? I think it is corporeality. The body is how we experience and interact with the world so when I see a trompe l’oeil image like this, I get all excited. I’m easily pleased.

Usually when I see a skull, I think of death. Or more accurately, I think of the absence of life. This image, with the nubile female bodies making the shape of a skull, leads me to thinking “there’s life even in death”. 

Leave a Reply

