Small object of desire #8 – Conceptual Thinking

I nailed my colours to the mast when I claimed that this blog is about popular culture so I thought I’d better declare my stance. This definition from Wikipedia (there’s a subject for a future post!) encapsulates what I couldn’t quite put into words:

Popular culture (commonly known as pop culture) n. the totality of ideas, perspectives, attitudes, images and other phenomena that are deemed preferred per an informal consensus within the mainstream of a given culture especially Western culture of the early to mid 20th century and the emerging global mainstream of the late 20th and early 21st century.

Yeah.

To that I’ll add: the cerebral, the kitsch, the whacky, the bizarre, the chin-stroking, the brow-furrowing, the joyful, the oh-my-days, the philosophical, the fashion, the jazz, the jump-out-of-my-seat-and-holler, the literary, the photographic, the…the…the…as I said ANYTHING COULD HAPPEN.

Leave a Reply

