Small Object of Desire #35 – Doing a Banksy?

Yeah, you could say that. Except without Banksy’s inimitable chutzpah.

Something’s happening to the street signs in Holborn, central London, near to where I live. While they may not be quite as inventive, succinct or as well made as any of Banksy’s, they still got my attention and raised a smile on an overcast day.

I wonder if there are any more? Let me know if you spot any and if you know anything about the who and the what and the why. 

Talking of Banksy…my friend the musician and producer Shawn ‘Monkey Boy’ Lee (except these days he’s transmogrified into a tiger) tells me that once, about 8 years ago, when I went to support him at one of his gigs and we were all sitting backstage, I ended up talking to Banksy for a couple of hours. I remember the night very well. I remember sitting talking to a man in a beanie and baggy jeans but for the life of me, I can’t remember his face. I have a photographic memory when it comes to faces but…that’s how mysteriously Banksy moves. 

A bit about Monkey Boy. You’d have heard his work if: you like the Superimposers; watch CSI, Desperate Housewives, Ugly Betty, Ocean’s 13 or the Break Up; are a fan of the label Wall of Sound’s imprint We Love You; heard Will Young sing a track called Happiness; listen to Natacha Atlas, Bomb the Bass and several ads on telly. 

And that’s just for starters. That boy’s easily the most prolific musician I know! Apparently, he’s also the most sampled drummer of his generation. I really should have put him in a post all of his own! 

Here are the covers of some compilation albums from We Love You. They feature Shawn Lee in one guise or another. Cover art is – need I say any more? – by Banksy, of course.

Leave a Reply

