Small Object of Desire #64 – Cameo

It’s necessary that the video below comes with a caveat – watch it at your peril. You cannot unsee it once you have seen it.
Then again, if you’re anything like me, it’s the most eye-wateringly hilarious thing you’ve seen in the longest time, perhaps all year. I’ve watched it over and over again. It’s my latest pick-me-up tonic.
It features a very early Cameo. Yes that Cameo ie. Larry Blackmon of the red codpiece et al. But this is Cameo from a time when the red cod piece was only a crimson glint of devilry in Larry’s eyes. He’s playing the drums (who knew?) and shares lead vocals with the jheri curled, Rick James wannabe in lilac.
My eyes, my eyes! The red spandex playsuits slashed to the navel! The rampant homoeroticism! The pouting lead singer with the falsetto that just won’t quit! And my god, I do believe those twitching tushes are actually demonstrating an early form of twerking! But the song rocks some dirty funk!
It’s impossible to write about this without a surfeit of exclamation marks.
Move over Miley Cyrus, you’ve been rumbled. And left for dust. Shake, shake, SHAKE YOUR PANTS!!!

Leave a Reply

