Small Object of Desire #92 – Birds

In the project Ornitographies, the photographer “Xavi Bou focuses on birds, his great passion, in order to capture in a single time frame, the shapes they generate when flying, making visible the invisible.”

These photographs attract and repel me simultaneously. I’m attracted because I’ve never seen anything quite like this before. It’s intriguing to see bird flight depicted in this way. The images are beautiful too. But I’m repelled because I find the photographs creepy as well. The flight paths are sinuous like a serpent’s movements and a feathery serpent at that. They look like monsters. Or aliens swarming. I get the heebie-jeebies when I’m confronted by animals gathered en masse so the idea of a swarm makes my skin crawl. I seriously considered not posting about them, that’s how uncomfortable they made me but in the end, the strange beauty of the images won out over the morbid thoughts.

4_ornitgraphie_24 4_ornitgrafia-_23 4_ornitgraphie_25 4_ornito_delta_00046_1 4_xavier_alfonso_bou_05 4_ornitgraphie_26 4_ornito_delta_00057_1 4_xavier_alfonso_ornitgrafies_43 4_xavier_alfonso_bou_07

Save

Save

Leave a Reply

